Click here to close
New Message Alert
Looking Back a Bit: Part 2

Looking Back a Bit: Part 2  

  Click Here to have an E-mail Sent to you when a new message is added to this thread
Author: J63   Date: 1/12/2017 12:48:10 PM  +7/-7  

Twenty Years ago 1997 - Eddie Bohn, scored his third track title overall in the black Ford #4. Not only Bohn won the title, he caputred the Overall Turkey Derby title. Balance of Wall masters: Ray Gastelu (Pro Stock), Rich Mongeau (Street Stock) and, Gordon "Tag" Neil (Truck). Other Track Champs elsewhere: John Blewett III (Flemington Speedway), Bill Park (Riverhead Raceway), Mike Stefanik (NASCAR Featherlite Modfied Tour).

Fifteen Years ago 2002 - Wall Stadium had been retitiled Wall Township Speedway by Timmy Shinn, Tom Mauser (fired after the first RoC Tour event and Sergio Benitez became his replacement thereafter), Joe Sanzari and, Fletch Creamer. In June of that year, the point system had been changed since when Harry Reed won the second week of the year, he voiced his displeasure about the point system and pleaded the management to change it but, his request had been denied at the time. Fans didn't like it either so, it was changed 55 points for first and so on to this day. Jimmy Blewett, successfully defended his 2001 Modified Crown. Not only he repeated, he won the Marion O'Roarke 76, Garden State Classic and, Sunoco 150 (RoC Tour Mod) along with five regular wins and to his fans it was a platinum year. Other Track Champs: Tim Buckley (Truck), Steve Costello (Street Stock), Jason Roschelle (Legend) and, Chas Okerson (Pro Stock). Ken Woolley, Jr. finally won his first full blown Modified Turkey Derby for Dick Barney. Harry Reed, won the rain shortened event in the Wall Mod which turned out to be a fiasco (lap wise). Other Track Champs: JR Bertuccio (Riverhead Raceway), Mike Stefanik (Nascar Featherlite Modified).

Ten Years ago 2007 - Kevin Flockhart, scored his second Wall Modified crown in the Scisco #12. Not only that; he won the Garden State Classic. During that year, Steven Reed was flirting for the top until the finale. In the finale, his hopes of winning his first title went south after his #55 suffered transmission troubles. Other Champs: Rich Mongeau (Street Stock), Kevin Eyres (Sportsman), Mike Fulton (Legend), Vern McLaughlin (Factory Stock). Nascar Whelen Modified Tour regular James Civali, became the second outsider to win the traditional Turkey Derby over defending winner Jimmy Blewett who took multiple trips to the pits. Michael Bohn, won the Wall Mods. After the season ended, the track and fans were hit with a major blow the track won't be in operation for 2008. Other track champs: Bill Park (Riverhead Raceway), Donny Lia (Nascar Whelen Modified Tour)

During that year; tragedy has changed drivers, fans, families and, the racing community forever. John Blewett III; passed away on August 16 during a Nascar Whelen Modified Tour event at Thompson Motorsports Park. John, was a good individual who had talent thoughout his career until it was cut short at 33. Todd Szegedy, won the event and the race ended at 107 out of the 150 scheduled laps.

Five Years Ago 2012 - Anthony Sesely, successfully repeated his 2011 title at Wall Stadium. During that year, Don Ling Sr. (grandfather of Mod racer Shawna Ingraham), succumbed to cancer at age 70 he'll remain in everyones hearts and spirits. Other Track Champs: Eric Mauriello (Sportsman), Nick Shaw (Limited Late Model), Derek Hopkinson (Legend), Scott Riggleman (Factory Stock) and, Brien Crosby (Four Cylinder). After years of trying to win the Turkey Derby; Matt Hirschman finally captured the 150 lap Tour Type Modified event. Zane Zeiner, won the Wall Modified in the Willat owned #76. 

Last Year 2016 - Steven Reed, repeated his championship with two wins along winning the Garden State Classic. Prior to winning the crown twice, Reed was hit with punishments and criticisms over his driving style and towards the end of 2013, he was driven out by fans and drivers alike. Matt Hirschman, living up to his moniker "Big Money Matt" cashed in not one but two Modified events. Tour Type Modified, his third in three years and the Wall Mods after six. In fact, Hirschman wasn't the only one to win both it was Jimmy Blewett that did it in 2011. 

This year 2017 - Ricky Collins, moves into the Wall Mods. Blake Barney, had been promoted to race the Wall Modified in his grandfather's familiar #14. Former drivers; Eric Mauriello (2014 Derby winner) and Shawna Ingraham (Five Time most popular driver) are now Ex-Barney drivers and, their careers remain in flux. There are new drivers coming and, the Krause family has leased the track once again for this coming year to keep it alive. - Good Luck to each and everyone!!!

Reply    Return-To-Index   Display Full Msg Thread

Looking Back a Bit: Part 2 +7/-7 J63 1/12/2017 12:48:10 PM